About us

Literacy Volunteers is a voluntary organisation. It is a partnership of Schools and Volunteers.

Our Mission Statement is:

  • Literacy Volunteers is a registered charity that enriches young people’s lives by assisting with their literacy, communication and social skills.
  • We work in partnership with schools by providing trained and supported Volunteers who make reading and communicating enjoyable to those at risk of disengaging from education.

Member organisations (Schools) and individual members (Volunteers) elect an Executive Committee from the members each year. The Executive Committee is responsible for managing the organisation. The daily running of the Charity is delegated to the Chief Executive who is assisted and supported by the six other members of the Staff Team who carry out a wide range of administrative, training and Volunteer support duties.

The organisation is funded by grants, membership subscriptions paid by schools, and donations.

In February 2006, Nottinghamshire County Council held a Civic Reception to celebrate a decade of achievement and service given to the children of Nottinghamshire by Literacy Volunteers and in June the Charity was honoured by Her Majesty the Queen when we were awarded the Queen’s Award for Voluntary Service 2006. This Award was one of only 103 won by organizations in the UK in that particular year.

Who’s Who

The Staff Team
Literacy Volunteers has a Staff Team of 8, which looks after approximately 240 Volunteers and some 150 schools and helps, on average, 1000 children per week.

Dawn Claypole is our Chief Executive. Tel. No. 0115 876  5993    Email: dawn.claypole@literacyvolunteers.org.uk

Linda Patterson is our Office Manager. Linda provides the first point of office contact for all Volunteers and schools.

Tel .No. 0115 876 5474    Email: linda.patterson@literacyvolunteers.org.uk

Sue Marriott is Senior Area Co-ordinator for North Notts.

Tel. No. 01623 517553     Email: sue@literacyvolunteers.org.uk

Emma Collis is Area Co-ordinator for City East/East/South Notts. She is also Literacy Volunteers Trainer.

Tel. No.  0115 876 5474     Email: emma@literacyvolunteers.org.uk

Emma Trowbridge is Area Co-ordinator for South Broxtowe, Derby, City West.

Tel. No. 0115 876 5474    Email: emmatrowbridge@literacyvolunteers.org.uk

Lorna Jaggard is our Project Co-ordinator.

Tel. No.  0115 876 5474     Email: lorna.jaggard@literacyvolunteers.org.uk

Marie Ainsworth is our Early years project worker .

Tel. No.  0115 876 5474     Email: marie.ainsworth@literacyvolunteers.org.uk

LVNS is registered with the Charity Commission and is governed by a constitution dated 14th May, 1996.

Executive Committee:

Chairperson:   Julia Gunn

Treasurer:        Alan Merrett

Members:       Chris Wroe, Patricia Harman, Peter Furnell, Angela Beere, Gaynor Preston, Katie Murray, Michelle Sharlotte

Officers are elected annually.

Committee Members are elected for a period of three years.

All Committee Members can be contacted on 0115 876 5474.
email: contact@literacyvolunteers.org.uk

Help Literacy Volunteers with ‘Give as you Live.’  To get to our link page to shop and donate to us click on  www.giveasyoulive.com/join/literacyvolunteers.

Shop online with thousands of stores and raise money for Literacy Volunteers with every purchase at no cost to you. Donations can also be made to the charity via
Search the web and raise money for LITERACY VOLUNTEERS Donate to local charities at Localgiving.com

Follow us on FACEBOOK and TWITTER for latest news and updates.